Print page | Close window
Federal administration admin.ch
Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sports DDPS
Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP
SPIEZ LABORATORY
Search in SPIEZ LABORATORY
Federal Office for Civil Protection, SPIEZ LABORATORY

National Authority CWC

The Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) entered into force on 29th April 1997. Since then 188 States have ratified the convention. Possessor states, who have ratified the CWC have to destroy their Chemical Weapons (CW) stockpile within ten years. Each State Party to this Convention undertakes never ever under any circumstances to develop, produce, otherwise acquire, stockpile or retain chemical weapons. Domestic chemical industry is subject to a strict international verification regime. The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) in The Hague is the implementing body of the convention.

The convention mandates each State Party to declare activities involving production, processing or consumption of certain chemicals and to accept inspections on territories under their jurisdiction. These declaration and inspection activities serve on one hand to verify compliance with the CWC and on the other hand to strengthen transparency and confidence between State Parties.

Switzerland has no chemical weapons. However, the chemical and pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland is working with chemicals that have a certain relevance to the convention, namely, dual-use chemicals. Dual-use means that chemicals can be used legitimately but they could also be misused for chemical weapon production. Thus, the affected industry in Switzerland who deals with CWC relevant activities are also subject to declaration and inspection obligations.

All State Parties have to designate a National Authority for the implementation of the CWC. In Switzerland the Division for Security Policy within the Federal Department for Foreign Affairs (FDFA) chairs the authority. The National Authority is complemented by the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO within the Federal Department of Economic Affairs (DEA), the International Relations Defence (IR D) and SPIEZ LABORATORY within the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport (DDPS).

This website is particularly intended to assist the Swiss chemical industry with regard to their obligations under the CWC. If queries arise, please feel free to directly contact one of the representatives of the National Authority.

Organisational Chart National Authority CWC

English is not an official language of the Swiss Confederation. This translation is provided for information purposes only. [ and has no legal force].

Seite drucken | Fenster schliessen
Bundesverwaltung admin.ch
Eidgenössisches Departement für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport VBS
Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz BABS
LABOR SPIEZ
Schnellsuche im LABOR SPIEZ
Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz, LABOR SPIEZ

Nationale Behörde CWÜ

Das Chemiewaffenübereinkommen (CWÜ) ist am 29. April 1997 in Kraft getreten und bis heute haben dieses 190 Staaten ratifiziert. Sie verpflichten sich, ihre allenfalls vorhandenen Chemiewaffenbestände innerhalb von zehn Jahren zu vernichten, keine solchen Waffen zu entwickeln, herzustellen, zu erwerben oder einzusetzen und ihre chemische Industrie einem strengen internationalen Verifikationsregime zu unterwerfen. Die Organisation für das Verbot von chemischen Waffen (OPCW) mit Sitz in Den Haag überwacht den Vollzug des CWÜs in den Vertragsstaaten.

Die Vertragsstaaten sind verpflichtet Produktion, Verarbeitung, Verbrauch und Transfer bestimmter Chemikalien über einem festgelegten Schwellenwert dem Technischen Sekretariat der OPCW zu melden, sowie Inspektionen auf ihrem Territorium zuzulassen. Dabei prüfen die OPCW-Inspektoren die eingereichten Deklarationen auf Korrektheit und Vollständigkeit. Damit wird die Vertragstreue geprüft sowie Transparenz und Vertrauen unter den Mitgliedsstaaten geschaffen.

Die Schweiz verfügt über keine Chemiewaffen. Ihre chemische und pharmazeutische Industrie arbeitet jedoch mit Chemikalien, die vom CWÜ kontrolliert werden. Hierbei handelt es sich um sogenannte doppelt verwendbare (dual-use) Chemikalien, die zivil wie auch militärisch nutzbar sind. Deshalb unterliegen Schweizer Firmen und aufgrund eines Abkommens auch jene vom Fürstentum Liechtenstein, welche solche CWÜ-relevante Tätigkeit ausüben, entsprechenden Deklarations- und Inspektionspflichten.

Das CWÜ verpflichtet jeden Vertragsstaat eine sogenannte Nationale Behörde für die Umsetzung des CWÜ zu schaffen. In der Schweiz hat die Abteilung Sicherheitspolitik (ASP) des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) den Vorsitz dieser Nationalen Behörde inne. Weiter in dieser Behörde vertreten sind: das Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft (SECO) des Eidgenössischen Departements für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung (WBF), die Internationalen Beziehungen Verteidigung (IB V) sowie das LABOR SPIEZ des Eidgenössischen Departements für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport (VBS).

Diese Webseite soll insbesondere der betroffenen Industrie in der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein als Informationsquelle bezüglich ihrer Verpflichtungen im Rahmen des CWÜ dienen. Für weitergehende Fragen oder Anliegen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die Vertreter der Nationalen Behörde.

Organisationsdiagramm Nationale Behörde CWC