Print page | Close window
Federal administration admin.ch
Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sports DDPS
Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP
SPIEZ LABORATORY
Search in SPIEZ LABORATORY
Federal Office for Civil Protection, SPIEZ LABORATORY

National Authority CWC

The Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) entered into force on 29th April 1997. Since then 188 States have ratified the convention. Possessor states, who have ratified the CWC have to destroy their Chemical Weapons (CW) stockpile within ten years. Each State Party to this Convention undertakes never ever under any circumstances to develop, produce, otherwise acquire, stockpile or retain chemical weapons. Domestic chemical industry is subject to a strict international verification regime. The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) in The Hague is the implementing body of the convention.

The convention mandates each State Party to declare activities involving production, processing or consumption of certain chemicals and to accept inspections on territories under their jurisdiction. These declaration and inspection activities serve on one hand to verify compliance with the CWC and on the other hand to strengthen transparency and confidence between State Parties.

Switzerland has no chemical weapons. However, the chemical and pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland is working with chemicals that have a certain relevance to the convention, namely, dual-use chemicals. Dual-use means that chemicals can be used legitimately but they could also be misused for chemical weapon production. Thus, the affected industry in Switzerland who deals with CWC relevant activities are also subject to declaration and inspection obligations.

All State Parties have to designate a National Authority for the implementation of the CWC. In Switzerland the Division for Security Policy within the Federal Department for Foreign Affairs (FDFA) chairs the authority. The National Authority is complemented by the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO within the Federal Department of Economic Affairs (DEA), the International Relations Defence (IR D) and SPIEZ LABORATORY within the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport (DDPS).

This website is particularly intended to assist the Swiss chemical industry with regard to their obligations under the CWC. If queries arise, please feel free to directly contact one of the representatives of the National Authority.

Organisational Chart National Authority CWC

English is not an official language of the Swiss Confederation. This translation is provided for information purposes only. [ and has no legal force].

Imprimer la page | Fermer la fenêtre
Administration fédérale admin.ch
Département fédéral de la défense, de la protection de la population et des sports DDPS
Office fédéral de la protection de la population OFPP
LABORATOIRE SPIEZ
Recherche LABORATOIRE SPIEZ
Office fédéral de la protection de la population, LABORATOIRE SPIEZ

Autorité nationale CAC

La Convention sur les armes chimiques (CAC) est entrée en vigueur le 29 avril 1997; à ce jour, 190 Etats l’ont ratifiée. Par leur signature, ils se sont engagés à détruire leurs éventuels stocks d’armes chimiques dans un délai de dix ans, à ne pas mettre au point, fabriquer, acquérir d’une autre manière ni employer des armes chimiques, et à soumettre leur industrie chimique à un strict régime international de vérification. L’Organisation pour l’interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC), dont le siège est à La Haye, est compétente pour la mise en œuvre de la CAC.

La Convention oblige les Etats parties à déclarer la fabrication, le traitement, la consommation et le transfert de certains produits chimiques dépassant une certaine valeur-seuil au Secrétariat technique de l’OIAC, ainsi qu’à autoriser les inspections sur leurs territoires. A cette occasion, les inspecteurs de l’OIAC vérifient que les déclarations sont correctes et complètes. Ces déclarations et ces inspections permettent, d’une part, d’évaluer le respect de la Convention d’un Etat membre et, d’autre part, de créer transparence et confiance.

La Suisse n’a pas d’armes chimiques. Son industrie chimique et pharmaceutique utilise néanmoins certains produits chimiques qui doivent être contrôlés dans le cadre de la CAC. Il s’agit des produits chimiques dits à double usage (dual-use) pouvant être utilisés à la fois à des fins civiles et militaires. C’est pourquoi les entreprises industrielles suisses et, sur la base d’une convention, également celles de la Principauté de Liechtenstein qui exercent certaines activités en lien avec la CAC sont soumises à des déclarations et à des inspections obligatoires.

Chaque Etat membre doit désigner une autorité nationale compétente pour l'exécution de la CAC. En Suisse, la division politique de sécurité du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE) occupe la présidence de ladite autorité. Le Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie SECO du Département fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR) ainsi que les Relations internationales de la Défense (RI D) et le Laboratoire de Spiez au sein du Département fédéral de la défense, de la protection de la population et des sports (DDPS) sont représentés au sein de l'autorité nationale.

Ce site internet vise avant tout à donner des informations relatives aux obligations découlant de la CAC aux industries concernées en Suisse comme au Liechtenstein. Pour toute question ou demande spécifique, veuillez vous adresser directement aux représentants de l’autorité nationale.

Diagramme d'organisation de l'autorité nationale CAC