Nuclear Chemistry

The Nuclear Chemistry  Division addresses the complex questions relating to nuclear issues/related topics on behalf of the Confederation and the cantons to protect the population. It observes international developments in its military and civilian use and elaborates additional expertise. The division conceives and evaluates scenarios, including terrorist ones. All findings are incorporated into respective threat analyses.

The division has an extensive collection of technical instruments, organised into two ISO/EN 17025 accredited test authorities that serve to assess a specific danger or to extensively survey in the normal situation (monitoring) or even exceptional situation (incident). The Nuclear Chemistry  Division is nationally well networked and its expertise is also applied in international organisations.

DDPS NUCLEAR EMERGENCY RESPONSE TEAM

In an exceptional situation entailing increased radioactivity in the environment the mobile resources of the N Emergency Response Team can be called in by the FEDERAL emergency organisation. In the event of a major nuclear or radiological incident, the Nuclear Chemistry Division would not have enough staff to operate both special laboratory and the N Emergency Response Team. For over 20 years, a lab team of military conscripts has been assigned to Spiez Laboratory for an exceptional NBC incident. Through close collaboration with the Armed Forces Joint Staff and our partner the NBC-EOD, its specialist team, the NBC Defence Lab 1 (military laboratory) can be called up. This unit has been trained to operate the measuring instruments at Spiez Laboratory, attends refresher courses each year and is rapidly deployable.

Dr. Mario Burger Head:
Dr. Mario Burger


Top of page

Physik

Der Fachbereich Physik befasst sich mit den komplexen Fragestellungen aus dem nuklearen Gebiet/Umfeld zu Gunsten des Bundes und der Kantone zum Schutz der Bevölkerung. Er verfolgt die internationalen Entwicklungen in der militärischen und zivilen Anwendung und erarbeitet zusätzliches Fachwissen. Er konzipiert bewertet Szenarien, inklusive terroristische. Alle Erkenntnisse finden Umsetzung in entsprechende Bedrohungsanalysen.

Der Fachbereich verfügt über ein umfassendes technisches Instrumentarium, organisiert in zwei nach ISO/EN 17025 akkreditierten Prüfstellen, das zur Beurteilung einer spezifischen Gefährdung oder umfassend in der normalen Lage (Überwachung) oder in einer ausserordentlichen Lage (Ereignis) Anwendung findet. Der Fachbereich Physik ist national gut vernetzt und die Fachkompetenz findet auch in internationalen Organisationen Anwendung.

EINSATZEQUIPE A-EEVBS

In einer ausserordentlichen Lage mit erhöhter Radioaktivität in der Umwelt können die mobilen Mittel der A-EEVBS durch die Einsatzorganisation BUND abgerufen werden. In einem grösseren nuklearen oder radiologischen Ereignis wären im Einsatzfall die personellen Ressourcen des Fachbereiches Physik zum Betreiben des Speziallaboratoriums und der A-EEVBS zu klein. Seit über 20 Jahren ist dem Labor Spiez für den ausserordentlichen ABC-Fall eine Labormiliztruppe zugewiesen. Über die enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Führungsstab der Armee, unserem Partner Kompetenzzentrum ABC-KAMIR, kann dessen Spezialtruppe, das ABC Abwehrlabor 1 (Armeelabor), aufgeboten werden. Diese Formation ist an den Messmitteln im Labor Spiez ausgebildet, leistet jährlich Wiederholungskurse und ist rasch aufbietbar.

Dr. Mario Burger Leitung:
Dr. Mario Burger


Zum Seitenanfang