Regimes

To oppose the abusive procurement of dual-use goods, the states with corresponding goods and technology have united to form an informal international regime to coordinate and widely harmonise national export controls. There are currently four such export control regimes (Switzerland is a member):

  • The Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG)
  • The Australia Group (AG)
  • The Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR)
  • The Wassenaar Arrangement (WA)

The Nuclear Suppliers Group

The Nuclear Suppliers Group now comprises 48 states that wish to help prevent the proliferation of nuclear weapons. The group was founded in 1974 as response to India’s first nuclear bomb. It appears that such weapon was developed out of nuclear material that was supplied to India for peaceful purposes.

The Australia Group

The Australia Group has existed since 1985 and is an informal union of 41 states and the European Union, all states being States Parties to the Biological Weapons Convention and the Chemical Weapons Convention. They work out proposals how member states could prevent the use and proliferation of chemical and biological weapons without restricting legal trade with such goods. The Australia Group was called into being by the initiative of Australia against the background of chemical weapons deployment by the regime of Saddam Hussein during the first Gulf war between Iran and Iraq. Without the deliberate and unintentional delivery of substances and goods from industrialized countries the weapons of mass destruction programme of the Iraqi regime would not have been possible to the same extent. Correspondingly, the Australia Group has compiled lists of dual use substances and goods, i.e. which can be used for both civilian and military purposes.

The Missile Technology Control Regime

The Missile Technology Control Regime was called into being in 1987 by the G-7 states. The regime currently consists of 34 member states. The objective of the regime is to prevent the proliferation of ballistic missiles for nuclear, biological or chemical weapons, cruise missiles and unmanned aerial vehicles.

The Wassenaar Arrangement

The Wassenaar Arrangement has existed since May 1996 and now unites 41 member states. It harmonises export controls for conventional weapons, dual-use goods and technologies.


Top of page

Regime

Um der missbräuchlichen Beschaffung von Dual-Use Gütern entgegenzutreten, haben die Staaten mit entsprechenden Gütern und Technologie sich in informellen Regimes zusammengeschlossen, um die nationalen Exportkontrollen zu koordinieren und weitgehend zu harmonisieren. Derzeit gibt es vier solche Exportkontrollregimes (die Schweiz ist Mitglied):

  • Gruppe der Kernmaterial-Lieferländer („Nuclear Suppliers Group“ – NSG),
  • Australiengruppe („Australia Group“ – AG)
  • Raketentechnologie-Kontrollregime („Missile Technology Control Regime“ – MTCR)
  • Wassenaar-Abkommen („Wassenaar Arrangement“ – WA)

Gruppe der Kernmaterial-Lieferländer

Die Gruppe der Kernmaterial-Lieferländer besteht aus mittlerweile 48 Staaten, die zur Nicht-Weiterverbreitung von Kernwaffen beitragen wollen. Die Gruppe wurde 1974 als Reaktion auf Indiens erste Atombombe gegründet. Offenbar wurde aus kerntechnischem Material, welches Indien für friedliche Zwecke geliefert wurde, Atomwaffen entwickelt.

Australiengruppe

Die Australiengruppe ist ein seit April 1985 bestehender, informeller Zusammenschluss von 41 Staaten sowie der Europäischen Union, die Vertragsstaaten des Biowaffenübereinkommens und des Chemiewaffenübereinkommens sind. Sie erarbeitet Vorschläge, wie die Mitgliedsstaaten die Anwendung und Verbreitung von chemischen und biologischen Waffen verhindern können, ohne den rechtmässigen Handel mit diesbezüglichen Gütern einzuschränken. Die Australiengruppe wurde vor dem Hintergrund des Einsatzes chemischer Waffen durch das Regime von Saddam Hussein im Ersten Golfkrieg zwischen Iran und Irak auf Initiative Australiens ins Leben gerufen. Ohne die willentliche und unabsichtliche Lieferung von Stoffen und Gerätschaften aus Industrieländern wäre das Massenvernichtungswaffenprogramm des irakischen Regimes nicht im selben Ausmass möglich gewesen. Entsprechend führt die Australiengruppe mehrere Listen zu Stoffen und Gütern mit doppeltem Verwendungszweck, d.h. zivil und militärisch (Dual-Use).

Raketentechnologie-Kontrollregime

Das Raketentechnologie-Kontrollregime (Missile Technology Control Regime MTCR) wurde 1987 von den G-7-Staaten ins Leben gerufen. Das Regime zählt mittlerweile 34 Mitgliedsstaaten. Zielsetzung das Regimes ist die Verbreitung von ballistischen Raketen für nukleare, biologische und chemische Waffen sowie von Marschflugkörpern und Drohnen zu verhindern.

Wassenaar-Abkommen

Das Wassenaar-Abkommen besteht seit Mai 1996 und schliesst mittlerweile 41 Mitgliedsstaaten zusammen. Es harmonisiert die Exportkontrollen von konventionellen Waffen und doppelverwendungsfähigen Gütern und Technologien.


Zum Seitenanfang