Print page | Close window
Federal administration
Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sports DDPS
Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP
Federal Office for Civil Protection, SPIEZ LABORATORY

OPCW Designated Laboratory

The Chemical Weapons Convention on the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons

Following tough negotiations at the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) was presented for signature in Paris in January 1993. This convention prohibits the development, production, stockpiling and use of chemical weapons (CW) and calls for the destruction of existing chemical weapons and production facilities. After a sufficient number of signatory states had ratified the convention, it entered into force in 1997, whereby the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) with headquarters in The Hague / The Netherlands was created to implement the verification regime of the CWC.

The path toward an OPCW Designated Laboratory

SPIEZ LABORATORY has participated in international inter-laboratory proficiency tests in the framework of chemical disarmament since 1989.

Support for the OPCW

We support the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) in the implementation of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC).