Services of the Biology Division

The Biology Division is the specialist authority of the Spiez Laboratory for protection against biological threats and hazards. Its core tasks include analysis and diagnosis of highly pathogen germs and toxins. The Biology Division runs an accredited test laboratory for the detection of biological agents and also offers other non-accredited detection methods. All services are provided in accordance with international standards with internal and external quality checks.

Bacteriology Branch:

The Bacteriology Branch is specialised in detecting risk group BSL 3 bacteria (Bacillus anthracis, Yersinia pestis, Francisella tularensis, Brucella abortus, Brucella melitensis, Coxiella burnetii, Burkholderia mallei and Burkholderia pseudomallei). Whether for dealing with deliberate dissemination or making a clinical diagnosis, rapid and reliable identification is of paramount importance.

Medical Biochemistry Monitoring Unit:

Nerve agents or other organic phosphates can cause a surplus of the neurotransmitter substance acetylcholine and thus muscle tremors, cramps and slack paralysis that can be lethal. Persons working with such substances must, therefore, be examined periodically.

Toxinology Branch:

For the Toxinology Branch the detection of ricin and saxitoxin stand to the fore, both substances that relate to the Chemical Weapons convention (CWC). Their range of analyses also includes the botulinum neurotoxin und enterotoxin B of staphylococci that belong to the ‘dirty dozen’ list of biological agents as well as further food toxins.

Virology Branch:

The Virology Branch is specialised in detecting human pathogen viruses belonging to the BSL 2, 3 and 4 risk groups that can be used as biological warfare agents but are also epidemiologically relevant for national civil protection.


Top of page

Prestations de la Section Biologie

La Section Biologie du Laboratoire Spiez est spécialisée dans la protection contre les menaces et dangers d’origine biologique. Ses tâches comprennent notamment l’analyse et le diagnostic d’agents pathogènes et de toxines virulents. La Section Biologie gère un service d’essai accrédité pour la mise en évidence d’agents biologiques et propose également des méthodes de détection dans le domaine non accrédité. Ses prestations répondent aux normes internationales et font l’objet de contrôles internes et externes de la qualité.

Groupe Bactériologie

Le groupe Bactériologie est spécialisé dans l’identification des bactéries du groupe de risque NSB 3 (Bacillus anthracis, Yersinia pestis, Francisella tularensis, Brucella abortus, Brucella melitensis, Coxiella burnetii, Burkholderia mallei und Burkholderia pseudomallei). Tant pour la maîtrise d’un événement en cas d’utilisation intentionnelle de tels agents que pour l’établissement d’un diagnostic clinique, une mise en évidence rapide et fiable s’avère primordiale.

Groupe de mesure Biochimie médicale:

Les nervins ou autres organophosphorés peuvent produire, en bloquant l’enzyme acétylcholinestérase, un excédent d’acétylcholine (un neurotransmetteur), qui se traduit par un tremblement musculaire, puis par des crampes et une paralysie atonique pouvant entraîner la mort. Les personnes qui travaillent sur de telles substances doivent donc faire l’objet d’une surveillance périodique.

Groupe de travail Toxinologie:

Le groupe Toxinologie se consacre principalement à la détection de la ricine et de la saxitoxine, deux substances relevant de la Convention sur les armes chimiques (CAC). Il s’intéresse également à l’identification de la neurotoxine botulinique et de l’entérotoxine B staphylococcique, deux représentantes des agents de combat B appelés la « sale douzaine », ainsi qu’à celle d’autres toxines dans les produits alimentaires.

Groupe de travail Virologie:

Le groupe Virologie est spécialisé dans la détection de virus pathogènes pour l’homme des groupes de risque NSB 2, 3 et 4, qui peuvent être utilisés comme agents de combat biologiques ou présentent un intérêt du point de vue épidémiologique pour la protection de la population.


Vers le haut