International Missions

UNSCOM

With our international engagement we are making an important contribution to security in regions of crisis and we support the security efforts of the international community. International operations are also in the interest of Switzerland as they enable us to gain experience in the field, to work with genuine samples and foster international networking. Our engagement is voluntary. Staff expenditure depends on the requirements of the international organisations and our internal capacities.

Green Star Award of UNEP

The UN has repeatedly called us in as recognised specialist institute of a neutral state for environmental missions in politically sensitive regions of conflict. For this we were awarded the ‘Green Star’ of the UN in 2009. This prize gives credit to works, organisations, individuals or governments that champion sustainability, promote global responsibility and carry out operations in the event of environmental destruction and disasters.

Examples of operations over the past years:

2015: Operation with the European Mobile Laboratory to overcome the Ebola outbreak in Guinea

In 2014 and in 2015, a scientific advisor from the Biology Division was deployed to the European Mobile Lab in Guéckédou in Guinea and screened patient samples for Ebola viruses with molecular diagnostics. Reliable diagnoses could be obtained rapidly by on-site analysis. They are basic for taking measures to deal with the situation.

2013: Development project in the Democratic Republic of Congo

In the Democratic Republic of Congo a development programme supported by UNICEF has been running since 2006 under the designation of ‘Villages et Ecoles assainis’. The objective of this programme is to improve the supply of drinking water, hygiene and waste water disposal in both rural villages and municipal areas. Two staff members of Spiez Laboratory collected and analysed samples for UNEP and UNICEF from 25 May to 10 June 2013 to assess the quality of drinking water. Especially in the southern mining areas contamination of ground water with heavy metals due to intensive mining activities cannot be ruled out.

2012: UNEP/OCHA Mission Brazzaville, Congo, in collaboration with the Swiss Humanitarian Aid unit and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDA)

From 13 to 20 March 2012, Spiez Laboratory gave support to the Joint Environment Unit of UNEP/OCHA after the explosion accident in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo. On 4 March 2012, several tons of high explosives and ammunition from old stockpiles had detonated. The purpose of the mission was making a preliminary assessment of the explosion’s environmental impact. For this purpose it was planned to take samples from the site of the explosion, the immediate vicinity and from unpolluted earth and water locations. The samples were pooled, analysed and packed in the town. Some of the samples were sent to Switzerland for detailed analysis. The examination was aimed at obtaining information on distribution and concentration of heavy metals and blasting agent residues that might have a toxic effect on humans and the environment.


Top of page

Missions internationales

UNSCOM

Par notre engagement au-delà des frontières, nous apportons une contribution importante aux interventions dans les régions en crise et soutenons les efforts déployés par la communauté internationale en vue d’améliorer la sécurité. Les missions effectuées à l’étranger servent également les intérêts de la Suisse, car elles permettent d’acquérir l’expérience du terrain, de travailler sur des échantillons réels et d’échanger des expériences avec des spécialistes du monde entier.

Prix Green Star du PNUE

En tant qu’institut spécialisé reconnu d’un pays neutre, nous avons été appelés par l’ONU à intervenir dans le cadre de plusieurs missions environnementales dans des régions en crise. En 2009, cet engagement nous a valu le prix Green Star décerné par l’ONU. Cette distinction est destinée aux individus, organisations et gouvernements qui s’engagent dans le domaine de l’environnement, assument leurs responsabilités au niveau global et interviennent pour répondre à des situations d’urgence écologique.

Exemples d’interventions effectuées au cours de ces dernières années :

2015 : En mission en Guinée avec le Laboratoire mobile européen (European Mobile Lab) afin de lutter contre l’épidémie d’Ebola

Une collaboratrice scientifique de la Section Biologie a participé en 2014 et en 2015 à une mission du Laboratoire mobile européen à Guéckédou en Guinée. Elle a analysé de nombreux échantillons prélevés sur des patients afin de vérifier la présence du virus Ebola au moyen d’une procédure de diagnostic moléculaire. Les analyses effectuées sur le terrain permettent de gagner un temps précieux pour obtenir les résultats et prendre les mesures qui s’imposent.

2013 : Projet de développement en République démocratique du Congo

En République démocratique du Congo, l’UNICEF met en œuvre depuis 2006 un vaste programme national de développement baptisé « Villages et écoles assainis ». Ce programme vise à améliorer l’approvisionnement en eau potable, l’hygiène ainsi que l’évacuation des eaux usées en milieu rural, mais également en zone urbaine. Du 25 mai au 10 juin 2013, deux collaborateurs du Laboratoire Spiez ont entrepris, sur mandat du PNUE et de l’UNICEF, d’évaluer la qualité de l’eau potable à partir de prélèvements d’échantillons et d’analyses sur le terrain. Dans les régions minières du sud en particulier, une contamination des nappes phréatiques par des métaux lourds liée à l’extraction intensive de minerai ne peut être exclue.

2012 : Mission conjointe du PNUE et de l’OCHA à Brazzaville au Congo, en collaboration avec le Corps suisse d’aide humanitaire et la Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC)

Du 13 au 20 mars 2012, le Laboratoire Spiez a soutenu une mission conjointe du PNUE et de l’OCHA à la suite des explosions qui ont touché Brazzaville. Le 4 mars 2012, des dépôts où étaient entreposées plusieurs tonnes d’explosifs et de munitions avaient explosé. La mission avait pour but de déterminer l’impact de cette succession d’explosions sur l’environnement. À cet effet, des échantillons prélevés en ville avaient été analysés. Certains avaient été conditionnés et expédiés en Suisse pour des analyses plus approfondies. Il s’agissait de déterminer où les métaux lourds et débris d’explosifs, aux effets toxiques pour l’homme et l’environnement, avaient été disséminés.


Vers le haut