Response Teams

Logo Einsatzorganisation VBS

The emergency response teams of Spiez Laboratory that are able to react quickly in the event of NBC incidents have been operational for well over 25 years and are continually being improved – among other things by conducting international exercises. The DDPS Emergency Response Team (EEVBS) is called up via the National Emergency Operations Centre (NEOC).

Our emergency response teams are at hand to quickly advise and support the immediately deployed Swiss forces (anti-chem teams, police, ambulance and fire services, etc.) in special NBC situations. They consist of voluntary specialists from Spiez Laboratory and the NBC EOD Centre of competence of the armed forces. The operational concept of this special team is focused on efficient on-site support at the shortest notice possible.

The task force teams are called up by the National Emergency Operations Centre (NEOC) of the FOCP. They are available round the clock. Our N,B and C expert advisers are able to advise the management staff on location by telephone within a short time.

Our task force teams rely on the professional and extra-occupational expertise of their members. Continuous expansion of expertise is ensured through regular exercises in Switzerland and abroad.

Nuclear DDPS Emergency Response Team (A-EEVBS)

Acts as a federal element in the event of radiological or nuclear incidents. As part of the federal Emergency Radioactivity, the A-EEVBS fulfils its mobile mission, while Spiez Laboratory carries out stationary lab analyses. The A-EEVBS consists of some 20 specialists who are volunteers. For longer operations and, if large amounts of samples accumulate, the military lab conscript unit NBC Defence Lab 1 provides additional support. 80 nuclear specialists are thus available at short notice.

Biology DDPS Emergency Response Team (B-EEVBS)

Specialists from the Biology Division are currently establishing a respective standby organisation for biological incidents, in parallel to ensuring measuring readiness of the new biological security lab in Spiez. The focus is on pathogens belonging to risk group 4 with highly contagious viruses such as Ebola and Marburg.

Chemistry DDPS Emergency Response Team (C-EEVBS)

The Chemistry Emergency Response Team of the DDPS has been capable of supporting cantonal intervention teams which deal with the suspected use of chemical agents since January 2000. The Emergency Response Team joins at the site of operations within one hour at the most with its own service vehicles or a military helicopter from the NBC Centre in Spiez. The members of the C EEVBS are schooled in handling chemical warfare agents and are able to operate safely in contaminated areas. They determine the extent and degree of poisoning and take samples for analysis in the accredited analytical laboratory in Spiez. The C-EEVBS also offers round the clock technical advice on the telephone. This service is important as, in the event of an attack with nerve agents, taking the right measures during the first minutes is decisive for the further development of the event.


Top of page

Organisations d'intervention

Logo Einsatzorganisation VBS

Les équipes d'intervention du Laboratoire Spiez, qui peuvent réagir rapidement en cas d’événement ABC, sont opérationnelles depuis plus de 25 ans et n’ont cessé d’améliorer leur savoir-faire, notamment par des exercices communs avec des partenaires étrangers. La Centrale nationale d’alarme (CENAL) est l’organe chargé de convoquer l’EEVBS.

Nos équipes d’intervention sont à la disposition des forces suisses de première intervention (défense chimique, police, services sanitaires, etc.) afin de leur apporter rapidement conseil et soutien dans des situations ABC spécifiques. Elles se composent d’experts volontaires du Laboratoire Spiez et du Centre de compétences NBC-DEMUNEX de l’armée. Ces équipes spéciales ont pour but d’offrir en temps utile un soutien efficace aux forces d’intervention sur le terrain.

Les équipes d’intervention sont déployées par la CENAL, rattachée à l’OFPP, et disponibles 24 heures sur 24. Dans un délai très court après l’alarme, nos spécialistes A, B et C peuvent conseiller, par téléphone, la direction de l’intervention sur place.

Nos équipes d’intervention s’appuient sur les compétences acquises par leurs membres dans le cadre professionnel et extra-professionnel. Des exercices organisés régulièrement en Suisse et à l’étranger garantissent une amélioration continuelle du savoir-faire.

A-EEVBS

L’A-EEVBS est un élément d’intervention de la Confédération en cas d’événement radiologique ou nucléaire. Dans le cadre de l'Organisation fédérale d'intervention en cas d’augmentation de la radioactivité, l’A-EEVBS remplit sa mission sur le terrain, alors que le Laboratoire Spiez procède aux analyses en laboratoire fixe. Ce groupe d’intervention est constitué d’une vingtaine de spécialistes volontaires. Le laboratoire de défense NBC 1 de l’armée, une formation de milice, apporte son soutien en cas d’intervention prolongée ou de grande quantité d’échantillons. Quatre-vingts spécialistes A sont ainsi disponibles à bref délai.

B-EEVBS

Les spécialistes de la Section Biologie instaurent actuellement une disponibilité opérationnelle pour les événements biologiques et établissent en parallèle les capacités de mesures du nouveau laboratoire de sécurité biologique. Ils concentrent plus particulièrement leurs activités sur les agents biologiques pathogènes du groupe 4 (classe de risque), qui comprend des virus hautement contagieux comme Ebola et Marburg.

C-EEVBS

Depuis janvier 2000, cette unité prête main-forte aux forces d’intervention cantonales lorsque, durant la gestion d’un événement, la présence d’agents chimiques de combat est suspectée. Au plus tard une heure après l’alarme, une équipe d’intervention du C-EEVBS est prête à quitter le Centre ABC de Spiez et à se rendre rapidement sur le lieu du sinistre au moyen de son propre véhicule d’intervention ou d’un hélicoptère de l’armée. Les membres du C-EEVBS ont été formés à la manipulation d’agents chimiques de combat et sont capables de se déplacer en sécurité sur territoire contaminé. Ils déterminent l’étendue et le degré de contamination et prélèvent des échantillons aux fins d'investigations au laboratoire d'analyses accrédité de Spiez. Le groupe d’intervention C offre ses conseils téléphoniques vingt-quatre heures sur vingt-quatre. Une telle prestation est importante, car l'adoption des mesures adéquates dans les premières minutes s’avère déterminante pour l’évolution des événements en cas d’attentat aux nervins.


Vers le haut