Nuclear Chemistry

The Nuclear Chemistry  Division addresses the complex questions relating to nuclear issues/related topics on behalf of the Confederation and the cantons to protect the population. It observes international developments in its military and civilian use and elaborates additional expertise. The division conceives and evaluates scenarios, including terrorist ones. All findings are incorporated into respective threat analyses.

The division has an extensive collection of technical instruments, organised into two ISO/EN 17025 accredited test authorities that serve to assess a specific danger or to extensively survey in the normal situation (monitoring) or even exceptional situation (incident). The Nuclear Chemistry  Division is nationally well networked and its expertise is also applied in international organisations.

DDPS NUCLEAR EMERGENCY RESPONSE TEAM

In an exceptional situation entailing increased radioactivity in the environment the mobile resources of the N Emergency Response Team can be called in by the FEDERAL emergency organisation. In the event of a major nuclear or radiological incident, the Nuclear Chemistry Division would not have enough staff to operate both special laboratory and the N Emergency Response Team. For over 20 years, a lab team of military conscripts has been assigned to Spiez Laboratory for an exceptional NBC incident. Through close collaboration with the Armed Forces Joint Staff and our partner the NBC-EOD, its specialist team, the NBC Defence Lab 1 (military laboratory) can be called up. This unit has been trained to operate the measuring instruments at Spiez Laboratory, attends refresher courses each year and is rapidly deployable.

Dr. Mario Burger Head:
Dr. Mario Burger


Top of page

Chimie Nucléaire

La Section Chimie Nucléaire s’occupe des problématiques complexes relevant du domaine nucléaire, pour le compte de la Confédération et des cantons, dans une perspective de protection de la population. Elle suit l’évolution des applications civiles et militaires au plan international et complète son savoir si nécessaire. Elle évalue en outre des scénarios impliquant notamment des actes de terrorisme et intègre tous les enseignements tirés à l’analyse des menaces.

La Section Chimie Nucléaire dispose d'un équipement complet réparti entre deux services d’essai accrédités ISO/EN 17025 affectés à l’appréciation de menaces spécifiques ou aux activités en situation normale (surveillance) ou extraordinaire (événement). Bénéficiant d’un bon réseau de contacts au niveau suisse, la Section Chimie Nucléaire fait également profiter les organisations internationales de ses compétences.

ÉQUIPE D’INTERVENTION A-EEVBS

Lors d’un événement impliquant une augmentation de la radioactivité dans l’environnement, l’organisation d’intervention de la Confédération peut recourir aux moyens mobiles de l’A-EEVBS. Les ressources humaines de la Section Physique étant insuffisantes pour faire fonctionner à la fois le laboratoire spécial et l’A-EEVBS en cas de sinistre nucléaire ou radiologique majeur, le Laboratoire Spiez recevrait alors le renfort d’une troupe de milice spécialisée. Ce dispositif est en place depuis 20 ans. Grâce à une étroite collaboration avec l’État-major de conduite de l’armée, la troupe spéciale de notre partenaire militaire le Centre de compétences NBC-DEMUNEX, à savoir le laboratoire de défense NBC 1, peut être mise sur pied. Formés à l’utilisation des équipements de mesure du Laboratoire Spiez, ses membres effectuent des cours de répétition annuels et peuvent entrer rapidement en action.

Dr. Mario Burger Responsable:
Dr. Mario Burger


Vers le haut