UN-System

UN Security Council resolution 1540

The UN Security Council resolution 1540 of 2004, which as international law is legally binding for Switzerland, sought against the background of the terror attacks of 2001 to require all states to impose effective legal and regulatory measures to prevent the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction. Resolution 1540 thus extended already existing treaties to non-state actors as well: Resolution 1540 explicitly obliges states to take decisive action against non-state actors as regards weapons of mass destruction.

UN Secretary-General’s mechanism

In the light of the first Gulf war between Iran and Iraq a resolution was passed in 1987 by the plenary that established the UN Secretary-General’s mechanism. This mechanism serves as a verification instrument of the Geneva Protocol for investigating alleged use of chemical and biological weapons (‘United Nations Secretary-General’s Mechanism for Investigation of Alleged Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons’ - UNSGM). A list of experts and a list of laboratories are compiled for the UNSGM which can be provided by the UN member states. Switzerland regularly evaluates its nominations so that it is ready for an assignment on behalf of the UNSGM and thus able to offer its good offices – as for example the analytical laboratory tests relating to the UN mission in Syria of August 2013.

For their fact-finding mission in Syria the UN relies on the laboratory network of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW). The OPCW’s designated laboratories – including Spiez Laboratory - are internationally accredited and are subjected to stringent quality tests every year. Since the Chemical Weapons Convention entered into force in 1997, these laboratories have validated their analytical procedures and precisely laid down the criteria for reporting the results. On the basis of these strict and undisputed quality controls, the results of the UN fact-finding mission in Syria were both politically and scientifically accepted without any restriction.

Contrary to the strict quality standards in the field of chemical weapons there are no corresponding controls in the biological field. In the case of a UN mission investigating the alleged use of biological weapons, lab analyses might therefore easily be questioned or even rejected. For this reason Spiez Laboratory seeks to remedy this deficiency. Such efforts are aimed at extending the quality assurance and reporting requirements of the Laboratories so that in the future UN fact-finding missions relating to biological weapons can also be both politically and scientifically accepted without any restriction.


Top of page

Système ONU

Résolution 1540 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies

A la suite des attentats terroristes de 2001, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies avait décidé par la résolution 1540, adoptée en 2004, que tous les États, dont la Suisse, devaient mettre en œuvre des mesures législatives et réglementaires efficaces pour prévenir la prolifération des armes de destruction massive. Il étendait ainsi les accords déjà existants aux acteurs non étatiques : la résolution 1540 affirme explicitement que les États ont l’obligation de s’opposer résolument à des acteurs non étatiques dans le domaine des armes de destruction massive.

Le mécanisme du Secrétaire général des Nations Unies

Ce mécanisme a été mis en place en 1987 par une résolution de l’Assemblée générale de l’ONU dans le contexte de la guerre Iran-Irak. Il sert de système de vérification de l’application du Protocole de Genève en cas d’emploi présumé d’armes chimiques et biologiques (United Nations Secretary-General’s Mechanism for Investigation of Alleged Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons, UNSGM). L’UNSGM se fonde sur une liste d’experts et de laboratoires spécialisés mis à disposition par les Etats membres. La Suisse contrôle régulièrement ses nominations afin d’être préparée à intervenir pour le compte de l’UNSGM et de pouvoir offrir ses services, comme cela a été le cas pour les analyses de laboratoire effectuées dans le cadre de la mission de l’ONU en Syrie en août 2013.

Pour sa mission d’enquête en Syrie, l’ONU s’était appuyé sur le réseau de laboratoires de l’Organisation pour l’interdiction des armes chimiques (Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons, OPCW). Les laboratoires OPCW désignés, dont le Laboratoire Spiez, sont accrédités au niveau international et soumis chaque année à des contrôles de qualité très stricts. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la Convention sur les armes chimiques en 1997, ces laboratoires ont validé leurs procédures d’analyse et défini les critères régissant la déclaration des résultats d’analyse pour l’identification. Les résultats des analyses réalisées suite à la mission en Syrie ont d’ailleurs été reconnus sans réserve par les scientifiques et les politiques.

Une qualité équivalente fondée sur des normes fait cependant défaut à l’heure actuelle dans le domaine biologique. Si l’UNSGM ouvrait aujourd’hui une enquête sur l’usage d’armes biologiques, les analyses des laboratoires pourraient être remises en question, voire rejetées. Le Laboratoire Spiez s’emploie à combler cette lacune, notamment par ses activités dédiées aux exigences relatives à l’assurance qualité et à l’établissement des rapports d’analyse, dont le but est d’obtenir la pleine reconnaissance des milieux politiques et scientifiques afin d’appuyer les Nations Unies lors d’investigations sur l’emploi présumé d’armes biologiques.


Vers le haut